K. Srikanth, P. Kashyap & PV Sindhu among Athletes with insurance cover from Sports Ministry

By Press Trust of India @indiacom | May 18, 2015

New Delhi, May 18: The Sports Ministry has roped in Oriental Insurance Company Limited as its insurance partner under the Target Olympic Podium (TOP) scheme for athletes.

"The said step of designating Insurance partner has been taken for the first time by the Department of Sports and is a part of its plan in seeking support from Companies both in Private and Public sector under their CSR initiatives for sports," the Ministry said in a statement.

Chairman and Managing Director of Oriental Insurance, Dr. AK Saxena gave a cheque of Rs 5.8 lakh to Secretary Sports, Ajit Sharan as their initial contribution to NSDF as reimbursement of Insurance premium of athletes.

"As and when more athletes formally sign up for TOP scheme, the MYAS will take their insurance policy and Oriental Insurance will reimburse the premium amount to NSDF as CSR," the Ministry said.

The Ministry had sought bids from public sector insurance companies for providing insurance cover to Athletes under the TOP scheme for indoor medical treatment up to Rs 10 lakh and insurance of Rs 50 lakh in case of death or permanent disability due to accident till Olympics 2016. As such the said insurance cover will be at no cost to the Government.

After IIFCL now Oriental Insurance Company Limited has come forward to support the TOP Scheme of the Government. The IIFCL had earlier signed an MoU with the Ministry to contribute Rs 30 crore (Rs 10 crore each year for three years). The TOP scheme envisages identification of Athletes who are potential medal winners in Olympics and providing support to them for preparation for Olympics.

Athletes so far covered: P Kashyap, K Srikanth, P V Sindhu, K T Irfan, Ankur Mittal, Seema Punia, Shweta Singh, Manavjit Singh Sandhu, Vikas Krishnan, Mohd Asad, Pinki Rani, Sanjeev Rajput, Abhinav Bindra, Varsha, Aishwarya Chezhiyan, Arpinder Singh, Anisa Sayyed, Shiva Thappa, Kynan D Chenai, H S Prannoy, RMV Gurusaidutt, Khusbir Kaur, Malaika Goel, Amit Kumar, Mandeep Jangra, Bajrang, Rahul Aware and Yogeshwar Dutt.
